NCAA Honors Bruins' Best


Published Jan 8, 2008 12:07 PM

The NCAA honored UCLA student-athlete alumni Cormac Carney '83 and Dot Richardson '84 with the 2008 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award on Sunday, Jan. 13 at the NCAA’s annual convention in Nashville, Tenn. The Bruin Hall of Famers are among only seven former student-athletes nationwide named to receive the award.

The Silver Anniversary Award recognizes former student-athletes who completed successful collegiate careers in various sports and have excelled in their chosen professions.

Carney — now The Honorable Cormac Carney, U.S. District Judge — played football for the Bruins. As a three-year starting wide receiver and a two-time first team all-Pacific-10 Conference selection in 1981 and 1982, Carney finished his career as the Bruins all-time leading receiver and remains tied for No. 11 with 108 receptions for 1,909 yards and eight touchdowns. A transfer from the U.S. Air Force Academy in 1980, Carney led the Bruins in receiving in each of his three seasons at UCLA and helped the program compile a record of 26-7-2. A 1982 NCAA Today’s Top V selection, two-time first team academic all-American and an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship winner, Carney graduated from Harvard Law School in 1987.

Carney was nominated to the federal bench by President George W. Bush in January of 2003 and confirmed by the Senate in April of the same year. He previously served as a California Superior Court judge appointed by Governor Gray Davis in 2001. Carney is currently director of the board of directors for the UCLA Alumni Association.

Richardson — who went on to receive an M.D. — played softball and basketball for the Bruins. She is Director and Medical Director of the USA Triathlon National Training Center and vice chairman of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports. A three-time all-American shortstop at UCLA, Richardson was named co-UCLA Athlete of the Year (with Jackie Joyner Kersee), helped the Bruins win the 1982 NCAA national championship and was twice selected to the all-Women’s College World Series team. The NCAA Player of the Decade (1980s), she batted .367 for her career.

Carney and Richardson were both recently featured in UCLA's groundbreaking Pac-10/NCAA TV spots, "My Big UCLA Moment."

As a member of the U.S. National Women’s Softball Team, Richardson was a two-time Olympic gold medalist, five-time Pam American Games gold medalist and five-time World Champion. She was named USA Softball’s Most Valuable Player and the United States Olympic Committee's Athlete of the Year, among other honors.

The other 2008 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award honorees are: Theresa Andrews (University of Florida, swimming); Todd Blackledge (Pennsylvania State University, football); Anne Donovan (Old Dominion University, basketball); Robin Roberts (Southeastern Louisiana University, basketball); and Bob Woodruff (Colgate University, lacrosse).

The award acknowledges recipients on their 25th anniversary of completing their athletics eligibility. Recipients were chosen by the NCAA Honors Committee, which is composed of athletics administrators and nationally distinguished citizens who also were former student-athletes.



Most Tweeted

    Range: Jan 03, 2021 – Present

      Range: Dec 04, 2020 – Present

        Range: Oct 20, 2020 – Present