And the Bruin Academy Award winners are ...


Published Jan 1, 2007 8:00 AM

UCLA congratulates these accomplished Bruins honored at the 79th Annual Academy Awards.


Bruin Box Office 2007 (UCLA Magazine web exclusive)

Love's Labors Won: Little Miss Sunshine (UCLA Magazine web exclusive)

Monster Man: Gil Kenan (UCLA Magazine web exclusive)

Extension Student Iris Yamashita nominated for Oscar (press release)

Sherry Lansing's Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award (Oscars.org)

Martin Scorsese, a member of the Executive Board of the School of Theater, Film and Television, won an Oscar for Best Director for "The Departed." The film also won for Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Film Editing.

"Little Miss Sunshine," directed by husband and wife team Jonathan Dayton '80 and Valerie Faris '80 ran away with two Oscars. Alan Arkin won for Best Supporting Actor and Michael Arndt for Best Original Screenplay. The film was also among the nominees for Best Picture.

"Dead Man's Chest," directed by Gore Verbinski '87, won for Best Visual Effects. The film was also nominated for Achievement in Art Direction, Sound Editing, and Sound Mixing.

Sherry Lansing— University of California Regent and member of the Dean’s Advisory Board of the School of Theater, Film and Television — received the Academy's Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award.

See all the Oscar winners.

Other Bruin ties:

Louis J. Horvitz '68 directed the telecast for the ninth year in a row, and twelfth time total. Horvitz is something of a master of the awards show, with 15 years directing the Kennedy Center Honors and American Film Institute Lifetime Achievement Awards.

"Monster House," directed by Gil Kenan '02, was nominated for Best Animated Feature. Jack Rapke, a member of the Dean's Advisory Board of the School of Theater, Film and Television, was the film's producer.

Iris Yamashita, was nominated with Paul Haggis for Best Screenplay ("Letters from Iwo Jima"), is a UCLA Extension student who credits her screenwriting courses there with teaching her "the structure and mechanics" of screenplays.

Ten Bruins worked behind the scenes on the Oscar telecast — some year-round employees of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Behind the scenes:

  • Anne Coco '98 – graphic arts librarian
  • Christine Farris '97 – display of Oscar statuettes
  • Debora Lynn Kirste '92 – special collections curator
  • Stevie Lee Lundgren '00 – overseeing Red Carpet bleacher fans
  • Stephanie Pollock '03 – Awards press guide
  • Robert Scott Reanau '84 – works year-round on Academy programming, spends Oscar Sunday working the arrivals tent and Governors ball
  • Heather Sabin '01 – archivist, oversees high-definition editing and production of the Awards show
  • Pam Williams '86 – producer of the pre-show
  • Mae Woods '69 – Academy oral historian
  • Julio Vera '98, '01 – Winners Walk host

Credits for the UCLA.edu Spotlight

Monster House © 2006 Columbia Pictures
Little Miss Sunshine © 2006 Fox Searchlight Pictures
Pirates of the Caribbean © 2006 Walt Disney Pictures



Most Tweeted

    Range: Jan 03, 2021 – Present

      Range: Dec 04, 2020 – Present

        Range: Oct 20, 2020 – Present